Natural Inspiration: Tiny Spiderwebs + Intricate Embroidery

As I was walking up the path to my house this morning, I spotted the tiniest spider web intricately woven between two little branches through the corner of my eye. (It was so infinitesimal that my camera could not even capture it.) I crouched down beside it and admired the nearly invisible little spider’s devoted handiwork as it gently swayed in the wind. What a beautiful sight. I realized that spiders are nature’s needleworkers. Embroidery and cross stitch has always enchanted me because the embroiderer’s devotion and individuality – imperfections and all – remain inside the piece. Here are some of my favorites:

CHARTREUSE KARMA LIVING BOTANICAL CREWEL EMBROIDERED PILLOW from Nectar

MARRAKECH CURTAIN from Anthropologie

AUTUMN SPIDERWEB EMBROIDERY on Flickr

VINTAGE MUSHROOM + WOODLANDS EMBROIDERY from Etsy

Tagged , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Natural Inspiration: Tiny Spiderwebs + Intricate Embroidery

  1. Haha I think I had something that looked very similar, if not identical, to that mushroom embroidery. Maybe they used the same instruction book.

    • that is probable, it was all the rage back in the 60′s and 70′s! Where did you get yours from? I’ve always been enchanted by little embroidered mushrooms, they are just so cute.

      • They are so cute! I don’t remember where I got it, or where it is now. All I know is that at some point, it was in my friend’s studio, and I remember putting it on a shelf; never to see it again. I think we found it in some kind of free pile 🙂

  2. that embroidered pillow is gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

